Liblady's Genealogy Blog


Week 1: A Special New Year’s Day
January 2, 2011, 2:07 am
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Our wedding

In 1975 I made New Year’s Day a very special day. My husband and I were married on Jan. 1, 1975. That meant celebrating our anniversary every New Year’s day. We had planned on getting married on Jan. 11 that year; so, Jan. 1 was not our first choice for a wedding date. At Thanksgiving my Mother was given the news that her cancer was back. My brother, who lived in a western state, called and gave me some options.
1. Have the wedding as planned, they would fly in the day before and out the day following.
2. Or they would come back for 2 weeks to spend Christmas with the family, then leave after the wedding.

Since my husband -to- be wanted the wedding to be in ‘75’ for tax purposes. I started exploring the possibilities of getting married on Jan. 1. The minister and the church were available, and all of the arrangements could be changed to have the wedding on Jan. 1, 1975. So option two was our choice. I had to reorder all of the invitations and napkins, etc that had a date on it, and get everything ready 10 days earlier.

My family gathered for our last Christmas with our family. We had not celebrated with my brother for a number of years, since they lived so far away. Family time was enjoyed except my sister’s children brought the flu home from school. It took it toil on the family through out the week.

New Year’s Day 1975 rolled in, about 3am, the flu hit me. My wedding day had arrived and I didn’t care. I did manage to get up after a few hours and get through the noon dinner, and the wedding at 2 that afternoon. Otherwise it was a beautiful day for Kansas in January. It was 40º out and we didn’t need coats or jackets. My now husband did take all of the men from the wedding party to my house in their rented tuxes and moved my piano to the truck. I wasn’t too happy about that. I was exhausted at the end of that day.

The next morning we awoke to 8” of snow, with my piano out in the truck. It did survive. And that is another story. I returned to town to finish a job and on Jan. 11, we had a blizzard. We wouldn’t have gotten married on that day.

We celebrated together for 14 years on Jan. 1. I lost my husband after 14 ½ years. So Jan. 1 is a bittersweet day for me. But I now have another reason to celebrate New Year’s Day. A great-great niece was born this morning about 4am.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[...] described my wedding in my very first post for the 52 Weeks of Personal History and Genealogy.  Our wedding was Jan 1, 1975 at 2pm Baptist [...]

Pingback by 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: 35 Weddings « Liblady's Genealogy Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

