Liblady's Genealogy Blog


New Study
January 3, 2011, 3:59 pm
Filed under: Study | Tags:

I have enrolled in a class from FamilyTree University. I have looked at the first week’s lesson. The course is Source Documentation 101: How to Cite Genealogy Sources Accurately and effectively. Lesson 1: Why Should I Cite Sources? I hope to become more proficient in recording my sources.

After all of these years of telling students to cite their source, I am finding out how important it is to cite my sources for information relating to my genealogy. It is a pain, but from experience, it needs to be done. The reading for today reminded me that one reason to cite, is to be able to find the information again. More than one I have found some documentation and then, spend a lot of time trying to find it again. The internet should make it easy. HA HA.

One item that was provided, helped me to see where a specific bit of information fits in to the citation. The URL was listed as the call number, when I think about it, that makes sense. The call number is the “street address” for the book, so the URL is the “street address” for the website.

One question I have is how to cite a source, that I have several different pages I use. Is it one source, or is each page a separate source. I hope to have an answer for this, when I complete this course.

Looking forward, to working through the 4 lessons, and reading Evidence! Citation & Analysis for the Family Historian by Elizabet Shown Mills.

I will continue to work on the Weisleder family, I am getting close to finalizing the information I have on each member. Then will go back and proof. The only problem with genealogy, you always find some information that will change the data for some one you had worked on earlier.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

