Liblady's Genealogy Blog


Shopping Saturday
January 15, 2011, 8:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Saturday was our Shopping day.

When I was 8 years old we moved to the country outside a small town in Northern Kansas. Up until this time we were about ½ mile from town, so shopping would happen as needed.  But with this move we were 20 miles for a “big” town. They had the Hatchery where we sold our eggs.

Every Saturday we would make a 20 mile trip to Mankato to do our weekly shopping.  So on Saturday morning we would load up the eggs that had been gathered and cleaned that week. We usually had about 30 dozen eggs to take to the Hatchery to sell.

One of the things I remember is there were times when they gave away premiums.  We consider them trinkets today, but they were very special.  Each week we collected a different knick knacks.  I still have 3 setting on shelves by my kitchen sink, I quite often think of how I got them. After selling the eggs we would do the other shopping

We almost always stopped at the Variety store; we called it the Five and Dime. A stop at the Drug Store, gave me a chance to look over the new comics that had come in. My favorites were “Archie”, “Donald Duck” with Uncle Scrooge, “Superman”, “Casper”, “Illustrated Classics” (the Fairy Tales), just to name a few. I could look at them while my parents were doing their shopping.

When I was young we would visit the jewelry store, and the owner would always had a treat for me. He would lift the ledge and let me go behind the counter to get my treat; my mother was usually with me.  This was in the days when watches and clocks were repaired.   If we need something to fix things or new cookware, we would visit the Hardware store.  If we need fabric or clothing we would go to the “Monkey “Ward Store.

I can still visualize many of these stores.

But for me the most exciting part of shopping Saturday was 1:00pm.  The library opened. We would go to the large sandstone building, and I would climb the stairs to return the 3 books I had checked out the week before and then go looking for my next treasures.  They only allowed you to check out 3 books at time, so my choices had to last me for a whole week.  The only time we could have more than 3 was in the summer, the library closed, so the Saturday before they closed, I could get as many books as I wanted, to read for the next 3 months. I spent a great deal of time, when possible reading.

But we always finished our shopping day with a trip to the Grocery store.  If we got Ice cream or frozen food we had to have it double bagged, because we had 20 miles back home. It was the days of Green Stamps, so after choosing the groceries, and paying the bill, we got to see how many Green Stamps we got to add to our collection.  When we had enough to redeem for the item we wanted we would send away for it or go to Hastings to the Redemption store.

Those weren’t the days of run to town and run back, you went and took care of as many things as you possibly could on that day. It was a shopping trip that took all day. When we got home it was time to put everything away, and do the evening chores. We continued having a Saturday Shopping day until we moved to the “big city” of Manhattan, Ks not NY.   We no longer sold eggs, and I was in high school, ready for college, so our regular Saturday shopping days came to an end.

In those days you always knew what day of the week it was because a certain activity happened on that day.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a wonderful memory!

Saw your blog on the new listings at Geneabloggers.

When I saw you made a genea-field trip to Arkansas, and you were looking for Vosses, I had to come over. I have Vosses in my tree…John Voss, born 1808, was married to one of my Ashmores – Jasinda. They moved from Lawrence Co., TN to Pope Co., AR in 1838 – with a fairly decent sized ox drawn wagon party of family and neighbors.

Wonder if we have any common relatives?

Comment by Dee Burris Blakley

Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

Dr. Bill ;-)

http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/

Author of “Back to the Homeplace”
and “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”

http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner

http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

Comment by Dr. Bill (William L.) Smith

Remember when Gas Stations used to have giveaways – like different presidential coins? That was way before the self service days.
Regards,
Theresa (Tangled Trees)

Comment by Theresa Casteel

How about the dish soap power that had the dishes in them? We collected a whole set of dinner ware with wheat on the plates.

Comment by liblady495

[...] was the day I would go to the library to get my new books for the week.  Check out this post about Shopping Saturday which was the day I got my new collection of books for the week.   When a book catches my [...]

Pingback by 52 Weeks of Personal and Genealogy History: Week 38: Hobbies « Liblady's Genealogy Blog




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

