Liblady's Genealogy Blog


Week 3 : Cars
January 15, 2011, 5:36 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 3: Cars. What was your first car? Describe the make, model and color, but also memories you have of the vehicle. You can also expand on this topic and describe the car(s) your parents drove and any childhood memories attached to it.

My first car was a light blue, but for the life of me I don’t remember the make. I got it when I was a senior in high school. It wasn’t a status symbol, but it was a necessity. We had just moved to Manhattan, Ks and my mother became a paid working woman at the age of 49. She did not drive, so I got a car to take her to work, and then on to school. The school ran to shifts, and I elected to start at 7:30 in the morning. I would take my mother to work, and then my father would pick her up on his way home.

My dad and I

Having said that I do remember the cars of my growing up years. Some only from the pictures. My father and I standing behind the family car. This would be about 1950 or 51.

We never had a brand new car, it was always a used car, new to us, and usually every 4-5 years it would be traded in. The first one I remember was the burgundy, bullet nosed Studebaker. I was 9 or 10 when we got this car.

It was traded in for a Buick, this is the car I used when I was learning to drive. I had learned to drive on the little Ford tractor in the field, so a car was pretty easy after that.  I also had to take Driver’s Ed in HS.

My Dad and his new car

But the car I remember most was the gold Chrysler, oops it was a Plymouth. (a senior moment). OH, had we moved up, when Daddy came home with that car. It had the fins, and was a “spiffy” looking car. It didn’t have a gearshift, but it had the push buttons on the steering column.

This car was replaced with a red and white Rambler. Guess what, it also had the push buttons on the steering column. This one was a challenge, if you did not follow the sequence correctly to put the car in gear, you didn’t go anywhere, and had to start the sequence all over again. By this time I had my own car and I couldn’t keep track of all of the cars my father had over coming years.

I just remember a phone call about 5 years before my father died. He said, “ I am giving up my car. I came close to hitting a child that ran in the street. My reaction time has slowed down, I didn’t hit the child, but it was too close. I will not drive again.” The remainder of his life he would walk to the places he needed to go or have a friend take him.

I hope when I reach that stage of my life I will have the grace to make that decision, and not force others to make it for me.

52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History by Amy Coffin, of the We Tree blog, is a series of weekly blogging prompts (one for each week of 2011) that invite genealogists and others to record memories and insights about their own lives for future descendants. You do not have to be a blogger to participate. If you do not have a genealogy blog, write down your memories on your computer, or simply record them on paper and keep them with your files.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Your spiffy Plymouth looks fab. Your Dad must have been so pleased with it! Jo

Comment by Jo




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

