Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealolgy & History: Week 8: Technology
February 21, 2011, 12:34 am
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History
Week 8: Technology. What are some of the technological advances that happened during your childhood? What types of technology to you enjoy using today, and which do you avoid?

What is technology?  The idea is moving forward.  I could talk about computers and Internet and write volumes.  In 60+ years I have seen a lot of things come and go.  Today I am going to concentrate on how one specific item has changed over the years.

I think we had a phone of some kind in the first house we lived in, but I don’t remember it at all. When I was about 7 years old we moved about 20 miles away to a small town, close to the center of the state of Kansas and just a few miles south of Nebraska.  This house had a crank telephone, it was wooden with the shelf and the black mouth and ear piece.  It was a party line, and our ring was 3 longs and a short.

Photo from http://www.odinartcollectables.com/antiques3.asp.

 

 

By the timeI got to be a teenager, the phone company had up graded us to a black dial phone, which hung on the wall. We were still on a party line, and there was a timer on the phone.  You could stay on the line for 15 minutes, and there would be a beep about 30 seconds, before you would be cut off.  If you weren’t finished, you would have to call them back to continue the conversation.  This did not allow longwinded teenage conversations.  Before we moved in 1965, the phone company had again upgraded and we had a party line.  Photo from http://www.oldphoneworks.com/554-black.html.

 

During my college years, I don’t remember to many changes, but in the early 70’s phones came in all shapes, and sizes.  We had a gold wall phone, in our first home. Grandma had a blue trimline phone. In the 90’s I got a touchtone phone.  Between 1990 and 2000 they were coming out with the mobile phones, bag phones, etc. Photo from http://www.rotaryepg.com/phone-rotary/1973-harvest-gold-western-electric-rotary-wall-phone.html.

 

My brother came for a visit, and asked “Did I get his message?”

“What message?”

“On your answering machine.”

“I don’t have an answering machine.”  I did eventually get a cordless with an answering machine.

In 2001 I took the plunge and got my first cell phone. I still have my land phone with an answering machine, and a cell phone.  I do not have all the extras: call forwarding, caller ID, etc.

What types of technology to you enjoy using today, and which do you avoid?

I still have a landline with a cordless phone, and a cell phone.  I have not moved up to the Smart phone, just not ready to take the leap.  I don’t want the camera on my cell phone, and I do not have texting.  I do not use my computer for this kind of communication either.  Maybe someday.

There are so many other aspects of technology but you can go on, and on, and on.

Amy Coffin of the We Tree blog (http://wetree.blogspot.com/) has yet another successful series on her hands: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History (http://www.geneabloggers.com/52-weeks-personal-genealogy-history/).
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love your pages alot.

Comment by roof replacement needham ma




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

