Liblady's Genealogy Blog


New Project: with my Granddaughter
March 12, 2011, 7:40 pm
Filed under: Personal History

This past week I was going through some of my papers from my family. My sister had given me a couple of things she had written about the herself and the family. As I looked at the Autobiography she wrote as an 8th grader (about 1951), I saw that it was not in very good shape, so I transcribed and scanned it. The story helped me understand somethings about my parents, and brother and sister. I don’t remember to much of that time as I was only 3.

After I completed this, I thought about what information will my grandchildren have about my life. Using some of the prompts from the my sister’s book and some from the 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogyand History, I decided to start one of my own. I have contacted my granddaughter, who is 10, and asked if she would be interested in doing this with me. She has agree, so we will get started. I will send her a prompt each week, then she and I will write something about that prompt.

Some of my prompts are: How did you get your name? How did your mother get her name? (I will do her father). Who are your grandparents and great grandparents. What is your favorite toy? Favorite book. Other favorites, Organizations you might have belong? This are just a sampling of the list I have started for us. We started this week with a Profile for each one of us.

I am anxious to see how this goes, and hopefully she will have something for her children someday.

12 Mar 2011

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

