Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 12: Movies
March 21, 2011, 2:35 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 12: Movies. Did (or do you still) see many movies? Describe your favorites. Where did you see these films? Is the theater still there, or is there something else in its place?

Going to the movies, was not a big part of my live. It was not something I got to do on a regular basis. As I was growing up, we lived 15 miles from the nearest theater. Because of milking cows morning and night, my parents did not go to movies, so it was a special treat the summer my brother was home from college.

My brother would pay me to do the ironing, for the week and then take me to the movies on Saturday night. The only thing, I had to pay his way into the movie. Years later, I was “ticked” off, that he had played me, to get me to help more at home, and then use that money to get us into the show. Today, we can laugh about all of this.

The two movies I remember during that summer are “The FBI Story”, with Jimmy Stewart, and “The Will Rogers Story”. I went to the second one, thinking it would be about another Rogers, but did enjoy learning about Will Rodgers. I believe the theater is still in Mankato, but I haven’t been there for a number of years to be sure.

I do remember a couple of times going to the drive-in, but it was further away, and went with a group of High school girl friends. Those are long gone.

The first movie, we took our oldest son to see was “Star Wars”, to this day he is still a Star Wars fan.

Today, I rarely go to the movies. Partly because I don’t want to go by myself, and there are very few that I truly want to see. I did take my granddaughters to a 3-D movie last summer, and it was fun, enjoyed the kids reactions as much as anything.

Amy Coffin of the We Tree blog (http://wetree.blogspot.com/) has yet another successful series on her hands: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History (http://www.geneablog…gers.com/52-weeks-personal-genealogy-history/).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

