Liblady's Genealogy Blog


SNGF – How many surnames
March 26, 2011, 8:49 pm
Filed under: SNGF

Randy Seavers: Genea-Musing has put out this challenge for this Saturday Night Genealogy Fun.
Your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to:

1) Go into your Genealogy Management Program (GMP; either software on your computer, or an online family tree) and figure out how to Count how many surnames you have in your family tree database.

2) Tell us which GMP you’re using and how you did this task.

3) Tell us how many surnames, and if possible, which Surname has the most entries. If this excites you, tell us which surnames are in the top 5!

4) Write about it in your own blog post, in a comment to this blog post, or in a status or comment on Facebook.

As a beginning genealogist, I don’t have tens of thousands of names, I have enough trouble keeping up with the names I do have. But I though this would be fun to see where I do stand. I use Reunion 9, having been an Apple user from way-way back.

I first went to my Index-it tells me how many names I have in my tree. I have 2,143 names in my tree. It took a few minutes to find the report to tell me about the last names, but it was under list, and Last Name: All people. I nice chart came up listing name, useage, earliest date, and living. Above the chart it gave me the number of unique last names – 539.

From this I reversed the order, and found the top ten names.

LANGSTON – 171 persons, from1575-1943
SANDERS – 162 persons, from 1765-2006
GROSSMAN – 115 persons, from 1715-2006
WHITFIELD – 89 persons, from 1730-1948
RICE – 50 persons, from 1801-1945
VOSS – 44 persons, from1836-1998
HIVELY – 44 persons, from 1832-1926
DEWITT – 26 persons, from 1883-1953
WEISLEDER – 24 persons, from 1820-1928
WAYLAND – 24 persons, from 1859-1928

Did have to go to the index, and put in just the last name and then see who was the newest member of the group. But that wasn’t hard to do. I sorted the Index by last name and all of the blanks came up first. I have 5 Ann, Anne, Anna, or Annie’s with out a last name, 3 Elizabeth, 3 Margaret, 2 each of Debbie , Geneva, Mary, Mildred and Matilda.

I did have 94 UNL, 7 UNF. So every family tree will have them. Also a lot of blank dates.

Enjoyed this little exercise, it came as a break from the writing I have been doing, and trying to be sure I have everything cited.

Of course I am continually adding new names, to the list, so try this again in year and see how I have grown.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

