Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 13: Sweets
March 29, 2011, 9:55 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 13: Sweets. What was your favorite childhood candy or dessert? Have your tastes changed since then? What satisfies your sweet tooth today?

Sweets: I have always enjoyed sweets, but I don’t have a big sweet tooth. When I was growing up candy was a treat. When I was in Jr. High, we had an open lunch and we would go to the corner variety store in town, it was less than a block away. I remember a new candy that came out. It was a square piece of chocolate called the Ice Cube. I remember buying them on a fairly regular basis during that year.

I do enjoy pies, cakes, and cookies. I prefer pies with meringue, such as chocolate, coconut cream, lemon, and raisin cream. My mother made a raisin cream filling topped with fluffy meringue. I don’t remember it being made with sour cream. But our meringue was made with fresh egg whites, and there was a time when the eggs were beaten with a hand mixer, (not electric). Those meringues are few and far between today. I don’t care much for pies topped with whipped cream. I guess I was spoiled with the homemade meringue. I prefer a cobbler or crisp to a fruit pie. I can’t make a pie crust, and prefer the filling to the crust

A favorite cake is lemon cake soaked with lime Jello, and then topped with Dream Whip and lemon pudding. This is a cool refreshing treat in the summer time.

If I have a sweet today, it will probably be a cookies, and I prefer homemade cookies, because they are soft and chewy. An oatmeal cookie with raisins, is always good. I also like chocolate chip cookies, and a lemon cookie.

This past summer, I had my two granddaughters here for a few days. One of the activities was to make cookies. We made a raisin cookie that was a recipe of my mother’s. I helped them gather ingredients, measure, stir, and then on the pan to bake. It was a fun time. It gave me an opportunity to share a family recipe, with another generation of the family.

It is only occasionally that I will have a sweet with a meal. So I think that the sweet tooth of my youth, has looked for other types of treats. I eat more cookies than any other kind of sweet today.

Amy Coffin of the We Tree blog (http://wetree.blogspot.com/) has yet another successful series on her hands: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History (http://www.geneabloggers.com/52-weeks-personal-genealogy-history/).

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

