Liblady's Genealogy Blog


New finds
April 15, 2011, 7:16 pm
Filed under: New thoughts, Voss, Weisleder

Today has been a good day to stay in and work on genealogy.  The temperature is about 37° with about a 22°wind chill.  It was rainy this morning, now it is just winds, very gusty and cloudy. Are they going to have ball games this afternoon? The message just came through, no games.  It will be better another day.

But back to genealogy.  It seems you can look and look and look and nothing comes up.  Then sometimes everything you look at adds to your information.  I have received 2 death notices from the Buffalo, NY area that has helped out with my Weisleder family tree.  Then today I received the obituary from the Springfield Daily News for Lilly Van Gundy.  It gave the married name of her daughter, and named her stepson.  Not a lot of information but it confirmed that she had married John Van Gundy and when he died. Lilly was the only daughter of Sophia (Weisleder) and Frederick Hale.  I am waiting on another Death Notice to arrive and also for the SS application for my father.  Hope they come soon.

I have also been working on a sourced document for the descendents of William and Eva Weisleder.  I have one printed (its never complete)  for William and Eva (Hagen) Weisleder, my maternal great-grandparents and have just completed the document for the family of their eldest daughter Sophia (Weisleder) Hale.  She married Frederick Hale.  They had 7 children, this includes a set of triplets, although 2 died,  and I have tried to follow each family as far as I can.  I have some , I think I have found some family links but not absolutely sure.  But what I have is documented, and I know what documents I have for the families.  I only have the next 6 children to do, with the 7th being my grandparents, I wanted to get several under my belt, to have an idea what I was doing, before I started on my grandparents, because I know that one will take me in a lot of directions, as they had 10 children, and of course, it will follow all of my nieces and nephews and their families.

On Ancestry, you can check to see about Recent Connect Activity.  I found a couple of people checking for people that are a part of my family tree.  That started me on another track for my husband’s family.  I was finding information that matched up to mine.

So I must say this has been a good day for finding information, in addition to being a good day to stay in side.

Names: Included in the document I have so far.  Weisleder, Hagan, Hale, Hasenpflug, Fitzpatrick, Burkhard, Kimling, Van Gundy, and Landry.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

