Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 19 : Bedroom
May 13, 2011, 10:57 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 19. Bedroom. Describe your childhood bedroom. What furniture did it contain? Were there curtains, wallpaper or paint? Was it messy or clean? Did you share a room with your siblings?

My first bedroom of my own, was after my brother and sister had both gone to college.  Now remember I was 10 years younger than they were so I was about 9/10 when I got to move upstairs to sister’s room.  It was a small room, it had a rod for hanging clothes,  some book shelves, a bed, dresser and a night stand.  The night stand was an orange crate.  I just remember I had to be sure the shades were pulled down, so I could read as late as I wanted.  If I didn’t put the shade down, my parents could see the light on the lawn out side, and I would be in trouble for being up too late.

When I was a Senior in High School we moved to Manhattan, Kansas.  I described this room in one of the earlier posts because it was so unique.

This room had a very unique feature; I haven’t seen one since. These 9 windows were very frustrating because we could not open the windows more than 2”.  After the first year there, a friend who was living with us, decided that she was going to get those windows open, no matter what. Low and behold, with the window up a couple of inches the sill pulled out, then window dropped into the wall, the wall was a pocket for the window, the sill was put back in and window was completely open.  When all the windows were open it was like a screened in porch. The roof overhang over this room was so deep, it took a very strong wind, to bring rain into the room.  On a rainy afternoon, with the windows open, it was like setting in a shelter safe from the rain.

I can still remember sitting on my bed and having all 9 windows open, and the rain coming gently down.  It was a very pleasant sound.  When my parents bought a new bedroom set, I got their headboard.  It was metal with light and dark brown strips.  I also had a chest of drawers, my small closet was just a step outside the room. I didn’t have a sibling to share my room, because of our difference in age.  But if company came, I gave up my room and slept on the couch.  A couple of weeks ago, I had the opportunity to drive by this house.  It looks very much the same as when I lived there almost 40 years ago.

Amy Coffin of the We Tree blog (http://wetree.blogspot.com/) has yet another successful series on her hands: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History (http://www.geneabloggers.com/52-weeks-personal-genealogy-history/).


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

