Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 23 : Books
June 4, 2011, 10:22 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 23. Books. What was your favorite book, or who was your favorite author from your childhood? What do you like to read now? Books or other formats?

Books, Books, Books – You want me to choose ONE book? 

When you have been reading for close to 60 years it is hard to think of all of the books.  Of course some are more memorable than others.

I have been reading as far back as I can remember.  My father would read to me and I was reading by the time I was 5.  They even fudged and let me have a library card when I was 5, because my brother and sister, would make sure I took care of the books.  The Little Golden Books were some of my early favorites. I remember one called The Fix-it Book.  I would check it out one week , turn it in and check it out the next week.  Of course there were cartoon characters in the book, a Bugs Bunny one was Bugs Bunny’s Magic Carrot Machine.

I read Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, Trixie Belden, The Bobbsey Twins, and  The Happy Hollisters, then moved up to the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder.

The library was an open door for me. Each Saturday I would get my 3 books, then take them back the next Saturday, get three more, and usually have them read by Monday.  When I got to High School I read my first best seller, it was by Victoria Holt called The Legend of the Seventh Virgin,  I then went on to read many of her books, plus some of her other psuedonyms.  Of course I read  Gone with the Wind, The Robe, A Magnificent Obsession, Ben-Hur  and lots of historical fiction, and biographies.

After I finished getting my education degree, and started teaching, I went back to school, and got my MLS (Masters of Library Science).  In 1973 I started working in the school library.  As I was working with K-4, I read many, many pictures books.  They are so very wonderful.  There are so many wonderful ones, and new ones coming out all of the time.  Authors for the older students were Beverly Cleary, Sid Fleischman, and Richard Peck, to name a few.

Then I taught 3rd grade for 16 years, and one of my favorite activites was to read aloud to the students.  I read Old Yeller, A Wrinkle in Time and A Child of a Silent Night  were just a few of them.

Then for 2 years I was the school librarian for K-8, and then 16 years I had 6,7, and 8th, and the last 5 or 6 years added 5th grade.  I worked with William Allen White Award Books.  Each years a list of books is published and students in 6-8 grades are encouraged to read a number of them.  They eventually added group of books for 3-5 graders.  There were between 8-10 books each year for the students of Kansas to read, and they voted on the winner.  One of my all time favorite William Allen White winners was: Airball, My life in Briefs,  by L.D. Harkrader.

So for most of my 38 years of teaching I spent a lot of time reading : picture, children and young adult books. AND NO I DID NOT READ EVERY BOOK IN THE LIBRARY!!!

I am now retired and much of my time is spent trying to work on my genealogy, when other things don’t get in the way.  As far as reading, some of favorite authors are: Jodi Picoult, Carol Higgins Clark, Joanne Fluke for light reading, Christian books, I have read The Earth is Flat, several of Mitch Albom’s books. A Top pick would be The Ultimate Gift  by Jim Stovell, the movie is good, but not as good as the book.  As you can see I have a very eclectic reader.

I have Audio books, I like to listen to when I am driving, and I have just gotten a Kindle.  I have listened to a couple of books on it, and read my first one.  I need to load with lots of books to read, to take on an extended trip.

And today I finished I’ll Walk Alone, by Mary Higgins Clark.  So it continues, I do not have one favorite book and if you talk to me tomorrow, I am sure I will remember some others I haven’t mentioned today.

52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History by Amy Coffin is a series of weekly blogging prompts (one for each week of 2011) that invite genealogists and others to record memories and insights about their own lives for future descendants.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

