Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weekly Personal Genealogy & History: Week 30: Employment
July 27, 2011, 9:59 am
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 30: Employment. Describe your first job. What did you do? Were you saving for something in particular, or just trying to make a living? Did that first job provide skills and make an impact on your life today?

My First Paying Job

When I turned 16, my girl friend asked me if I would help her and her dad that summer.  After talking it over with my parents, it was decided I would help them.  Of course I had to apply for my Social Security card, to make it official.  That summer we stripped wallpaper, painted walls, and helped her dad paint and paper rooms around town.  The hardest job was at the old variety store. They wanted the ceiling painted.  It was a molded metal ceiling about 15’ high.  We did not have ladders tall enough, so we made a scaffold out of a couple of ladders, then stood up to reach the ceiling.  We both had to be up there, because as we moved to the end of the scaffold it would tip like a teeter-totter.  But that was the only way we could reach the edges of the room.  I was certainly glad when that job was complete, I don’t like heights and that was not my favorite place to be.  It was also hot, and no A/C.

Before that summer was over, my father had decided to move to Manhattan, Ks and that job ended.  Shortly after school started, I applied and was accepted for part time work as a nurse’s aide at St. Mary’s Hospital in Manhattan, KS.  I would work 7-3 on Saturday and Sunday, and full time during the summer.  For some reason I could only work one of the first 2 weekends, when I received my first check it was $9.99.  Couldn’t they have made it an even $10.00.  I worked there from my Senior year of high school and up until my last semester of College.  This money was mine to spend, but I was also able to pay for 1 semester of school each year.

Both of these jobs, have provided me different kinds of skills.  Learning to work with others is one that is not always the easiest in life.  The hands -on skills of remodeling has come in handy when I wanted to do some home redecorating on my own.  No matter what your job is you will be working with all kinds of personalities.  Some will be easier to deal with than others.  You will see all kinds of work ethics, some you will agree with and some that will drive you crazy.

I started receiving a paycheck for a job when I was 16 years old.  I worked at the hospital almost 5 years, and then I started teaching, and was an educator for 38 years.  I was able to retire and so my retirement is now my paycheck.  Money was put away so that I could do this.  Even though I am retired I am still working, whether it is on my genealogy, helping family or friends with a project, I am working, and will continue to do so as long as I am able.

 

52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History by Amy Coffin is a series of weekly blogging prompts (one for each week of 2011) that invite genealogists and others to record memories and insights about their own lives for future descendants.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

