Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal and Genealogy History: Week 38: Hobbies
October 9, 2011, 2:49 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History, Personal History

Week 38: Hobbies. Did you have any hobbies as a child? Which ones?

I guess I would say my hobby was reading.  As a child I was reading every chance I could get, as well as late into the night. The most exciting day of the week was Saturday, this was the day I would go to the library to get my new books for the week.  Check out this post about Shopping Saturday which was the day I got my new collection of books for the week.   When a book catches my interest I don’t want to put it down.  Is it any wonder I became a librarian.  Although,  I am not the reader I was as a child but I still enjoy reading a good book.

I also enjoy doing needlework, over the years I have stitched many pieces that have been given away as gifts. Counted cross stitch is my favorite type of needlework. I started with stamped cross stitch.  One of my early favorites is a stamped sampler.  I can see many mistakes, but I still like what it has to say.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
With out numbers
how can we count our joys

Without words how
can we tell of them
A B C D E F G H I J
K L M N O P Q R S T
U V W W X Y Z

Because there is a glass over the picture, I had trouble getting a picture of this.

Eagle

One of my treasured pictures is one I made for my son, it is an eagle in full flight.  The wing spread is about 18” across.  It was a challenge.  It was entered  into the county fair and received a reserve champion ribbon.  I am unable to continue with this hobby, as my hands are not as nimble as they were in earlier years. This was a hobby that allowed me to make some very special one of a kind gifts for friends and family.

Today one of my hobbies is  photography. It allows me  to make those special one of a kind gifts.  The past several years I have used pictures taken over the year for a calendar.  I make one that includes all of the birthday’s and anniversaries for our family for the year.  Then I make a smaller version with just the major holidays and use that for Christmas gifts that year.  The 2012 calendar will feature photos  from the trip I took to Alaska.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

