Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal & Genealogy History: Week 40 : Trouble
October 29, 2011, 11:31 am
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History, Personal History

Week 40: Trouble. What happened when you got into trouble as a child? What was punishment like in your home?

I was the youngest in my family, and quite a bit younger than my brother & sister.  By the time I was 11 my sister was married, and my brother was away at college.  Therefore I was like an only child, we lived on a farm 4 miles from town, our nearest neighbor was 1/4 mile away.  I spent much of my free time reading.  Things I got in trouble for was not doing things when I was supposed to.  I was expected to do the the supper dishes while my parents were out milking the cows.  If I didn’t have them done, I still had to do them, after they came in .

My father did not believe in spankings, but he did believe in discipline.  He could give a look that would absolutely melt me.  I tried not to ever get that look.  My mother did give me a swat when I wouldn’t come out to help pluck the chickens, one day.  I don’t know why I did not want to come out, but ended up helping.

The worst punishment I received was from my father.  I was about 12 or 13, and I sassed my mother, he heard me. I can still see him sitting in his rocker, and said “SLAP HER.”  To this day I do not know if my mother slapped me or not, but his words stung worse than any spanking or slap ever could.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

