Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 41: Teachers
October 30, 2011, 1:56 pm
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History, Grossman

Week #41 – Teachers

Week 41. Teachers. Did you have a favorite teacher when you were growing up? What class(es) did this person teach and why did he/she make an impact on your life?

Rudolf

Rudolf

When we speak of teachers we most often talk about our school teachers.  I want to share about my first teacher, my Father.  My father was born shortly after the turn of the century.  He was the third son of German parents, his father coming over as a very young boy, and his mother the daughter of German immigrants.  Before my father was born, the family moved to Montana, where he was raised.  He attended one room schools, told about listening to the lesson of the older students.  He only attended through the eighth grade.  But through out his life he felt an education was the best thing we could have, and something that could not be taken from us.   He continued to learn through out his life.   It was through him,  the love of learning was instilled in his children.

I was the youngest child in the family, born after my father had recovered from a very serious illness, which meant he had to take life a little slower, difficult for a farmer.  He found time to read to me, and take me out with him.  He loved to work with numbers.  He was constantly figuring how much it would cost to do different things.  There was always a daily newspaper, news magazines to keep up with local, state, and national news.  He also listened to the news on the radio, and after we got a TV, news times was almost sacred, don’t disturb it.

I was allowed a library card at a very early age, because they knew the books would be read to me.  My father’s expectation for all 3 of his children was to complete a college degree.  I wasn’t very old when I knew that my schooling would not end in 12 years, but would include another 4 years of college.  There was never any question that I would be attending college.

His also made me understand the grade I received for a class was my responsibility.  When a low grade was noted on my grade card, he always asked: “Is this the grade you deserve?” These were my grades given by the teacher for the work and effort I had put forth.

All of his children did attend and graduate from college.  Upon graduation from college, I started teaching, to help another generation have a love of learning.  My brother and I then went on to complete Master’s Degrees.  I worked in the field of education for 38 years as teacher and librarian.

Even though I have recently retired I continue to learn.  From my first teacher, my father, I know my learning is never complete.  He frequently said: “If you can read, you can do anything.”

 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful Karen. My Mom, Edith, told me that same thing. I have an insatiable thirst for reading and learning.

Comment by Barb Pollard

How far in school did she get in school, since she was the youngest? If two of them had that thirst, maybe their parents did also. There is so much we don’t don’t know about our Voss relatives.

Comment by Liblady495




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

