Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 51-Holiday Events
February 8, 2012, 9:10 am
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 51. Holiday Events. Where did your family gather for the Christmas or Hanukkah as a child? Which family members and friends attended the event?

As I was growing up we would celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve.  We would gather around the tree and then read the Christmas story from Luke 2: 1-20.  Then we would open our gifts.  Hearing this story will always be an important part of my Christmas.  The next morning we would have the stockings which usually had an orange and some candy.  Most years we celebrated with our immediate family, after my sister married and had children we would celebrate with them.

As my sister married into the Catholic faith, that is when I hear about Christmas Eve services as they celebrated with Midnight Mass. It was after I was married that other faiths started celebrating with the Candlelight Service for Christmas Eve.

Over the years that has also become an important part of my Christmas celebration.  Partly because I am a participant in the service, and partly because it reminds me of the reason we celebrate.  Due to illness this was the first year in many that I was unable to attend the service.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

