Liblady's Genealogy Blog


52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History: Week 52-Advice
March 3, 2012, 9:32 am
Filed under: 52 Weeks of Personal Genealogy & History

Week 52. Advice. Do you have any advice for future generations who may be researching your family? For example, was there a name change or a significant relocation in your past? This is intended to be a very flexible question. Answer it any way you wish.

Thank You:

First I would like to thank Amy Coffin for putting together this series of prompts for the year. The prompts allowed me to start my personal history to share with my family.  This will gives my children and grandchildren some of my stories.  I know I am finishing this late, but it is more important to finish, than end on time.  I hope to be able to pull these together in a hard copy for my grandchildren. Again thanks for all the ideas.

Advice:

1.  Remember this is a journey & journeys, don’t always take a straight path.  Sometimes there are detours and back tracking, it may take you down unexpected pathways or wide open highways.  Also there will be roadblocks (brickwalls) that seem impossible to get around. Then all of a sudden the roadblock is gone, and a new one is in its place.

2. Remember that genealogy is never ending.  There are ancestors and descendants, with new information being discovered along the way.  Your family comes from both your sides and all of these are a part of you.

3.  Make goals. I have so many things I want to accomplish that I get side tracked.  I need to select about 3 goals and make them my priority for this year. Last year I worked on my Genealogy Blog, I also completed making a digital copy of 34 years of the Langston Newsletter, getting it ready for others to use.

For 2012

1.  To continue with my blog, Using ideas from Amy Coffins’s The Big Genealogy Blog Book and alsoTo Our Children’s Children by Bob Greene and D. G. Fulford.

2.  To go to cemeteries to take pictures for Find a Grave

3.  To make a copy of my years blog into a book,

Of course continue my research for my VOSS, SANDERS, GROSSMAN , and RICE families.

 

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thank you for the mention! I’m glad you’re enjoying the series and that you found it helpful.

Comment by Amy Coffin




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

