Liblady's Genealogy Blog


SNGF – Surnames in data base
March 10, 2012, 3:44 pm
Filed under: SNGF

It’s Saturday Night - time for more Genealogy Fun!

Your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to:

1)  Go into your Genealogy Management Program (GMP; either software on your computer, or an online family tree) and figure out how to Count how many surnames you have in your family tree database.

2)  Tell us which GMP you’re using and how you did this task.

3)  Tell us how many surnames are in your database and, if possible, which Surname has the most entries.  If this excites you, tell us which surnames are in the top 5!  Or 10!

4)  Write about it in your own blog post, in a comment to this blog post, in a status or comment on Facebook, or in Google Plus Stream post.

I am using Reunion 9 for Mac.  I went to List>Last Name>All People

This gave me a chart with the Number of Last Names, with Useage (number with that name), Earliest Date (Birth Date) and Living.  I sorted by Last Name which gave the me the following 10 names.

Last Name # of Names Earliest Birthdate Latest Birthdate
LANGSTON 181 1575 1944
SANDERS 150 1801 2006
GROSSMAN 138 1715 1948
WHITFIELD 90 ABT 1710 1955
VOSS 64 1779 ABT 1955
RICE 49 1801 ABT 1986
HIVELY 47 1832 ABT 1940
DUNCAN 27 ABT 1670 ABT 1890
DEWITT 26 1883 1999
WAYLAND 26 1859 1929

I did not include living as I am quite sure I have a number of Birthdates with out a date of death, not sure if they are still living or not.  Then I went to the Index and selected all the people without a Last Name, there were 88 selected,  with dates from 1555-1810. I was able to sort this list to get the information . This would be #5 in the list, I think if I put LNU in the last name field, then it would have come up in first list.  Something to think about.  Obviously I don’t have the numbers Randy has but this has given a perspective on the most frequent names on my family tree.

Randy commented on First names with out last names.  I have 5 Ann, Anne, or Anna’s, and 3 Elizabeth’s.  There are 2 each of Geneva, Lisa, Margaret, Marsha, Matilda Mildred, and Nancy.

It would be interesting to see what the most frequent first name use, Male and Female. But at this point I don’t see a quick and easy way to determine this information.

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

