Liblady's Genealogy Blog


1940 Census – It is here.
April 2, 2012, 9:47 pm
Filed under: 1940 Census

The images of the 1940 Census became available this morning.  For me it has been a day of patiently waiting as the people I want to find are not in the cities therefore they do not have addresses. I was not successful at being able to find the pages, so I will just be patient as Kansas is one of the first to be available for indexing.

Having worked with computers, a project of this magnitude will probably have some glitches.  Also many people were wanting to see them and the numbers are amazing.  I anticipate it will be a week or more before Kansas is completely indexed and arbitrated so I can find my father, mother, brother and sister.   My Aunt may be living with them at the time, just have to wait and see.  I will be anxious for the Montana, and Arkansas pages to be completed.

Through out the day I had been checking Family Search to start indexing.  To help time pass, I did several indexing projects.  About 7 pm there is was 1940 Census ready to index.  I down loaded, and indexed 4 pages for Allen County Kansas and one for Atchinson County Kansas.

Tomorrow morning,  I will be doing some volunteer work with photos for the Santa Fe Trail Center. They have been scanned I just need to be able to make adjusts and hopefully some information about the photo to be uploaded to the Santa Fe Trail Center website.  I am just learning the program, which has not been user friendly.  Hope to have some success tomorrow.  In the afternoon I will continue to do some indexing.

The next several months will be quite exciting as the volunteers work on the indexing and getting the information out for another generation.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

